Interreg

Deutschland-Nederland

SEREH

Smart Energy Region Emmen - Haren

With the SEREH project, the Gemeente Emmen and the city of Haren (Ems) want to design the pre-conditions for installing a decentralized cross-border electricity and energy market. That would be unique in Europe. The project aims to find out whether electricity from renewable energies below the transmission grid level can be exchanged and managed across borders. There are still technological, market-relevant and legal hurdles for this which are examined in the project as well as developing solutions for it. The complexity of energy markets and energy legislation at national level in Germany and the Netherlands as well as at EU level presents particular challenges in order to physically realize a cross-border energy region.

The project will develop scenarios for how a regional energy market Emmen / Haren can look from 2025 onwards. Then a model will be developed to simulate the different scenarios. Since energy storage systems will be important, concepts of hydrogen storage and integrated energy will be developed in the project already. As well legal investigations will taking place in the project. The activities are accompanied by a comprehensive national and European stakeholder and policy dialogue in order to create the pre-conditions for the realization of decentralized cross-border energy supply in Europe at these levels as well.

The project is being implemented by a triple-helix consortium consisting of the municipalities of Emmen and Haren (Ems), three regional research institutes and two energy companies operating in the project area, supplemented by other companies as “associated partners” also with regard to the expected investment phase after the project ends.

Project
Information

Planned project

1.488.290,93 €

Project Duration

1.3.2018 - 28.2.2022

Priority

Erhöhung der grenzüberschreitenden Innovationskraft im Programmgebiet

Lead Partner

Gemeente Emmen

Project partners

Rijksuniversiteit Groningen , Stadt Haren (Ems), Universiteit Twente, Hochschule Osnabrück, Agrowea, NAM B.V.

Project
Financing

Financer Amount
NAM B.V. 0,00 €
Universiteit Twente 12.075,00 €
Stadt Haren (Ems) 47.164,50 €
Provincie Drenthe 59.531,64 €
Agrowea 72.808,20 €
Hochschule Osnabrück 86.245,50 €
Rijksuniversiteit Groningen 86.644,50 €
Ministerie van Economische Zaken en Klimaat 89.297,46 €
Gemeente Emmen 141.549,57 €
MB Niedersachsen 148.829,09 €
EFRE / EFRO 744.145,47 €

Interreg

Deutschland-Nederland

SEREH

Smart Energy Region Emmen - Haren

Mit dem SEREH-Projekt wollen die Gemeente Emmen und die Stadt Haren (Ems) die Voraussetzungen herstellen, einen dezentralen grenzüberschreitenden Strom- und Energiemarkt zu installieren. Das wäre einzigartig in Europa. Mit dem Projekt soll herausgefunden werden, ob Strom aus Erneuerbaren Energien unterhalb der Übertragungsnetz-Ebene grenzübergreifend ausgetauscht und gemanagt werden kann. Hierfür bestehen heute noch technologische, marktwirtschaftliche und rechtliche Hürden, die im Projekt untersucht und für die Lösungen entwickelt werden. Die Komplexitat der Energiemärkte und Energiegesetzgebungen auf nationaler Ebene in Deutschland und den Niederlanden sowie auf EU-Ebene stellen besondere Herausforderungen dar, um eine grenzübergreifende Energieregion physisch zu realisieren.

Im Projekt werden Szenarien entwickelt, wie ein regionaler Energiemarkt Emmen/Haren ab dem Jahr 2025 aussehen kann. Daraufhin wird ein Modell entwickelt, mit dem die verschiedenen Szenarien simuliert werden. Da hierbei Energiespeichersysteme bedeutsam sein werden, werden Konzepte der Wasserstoffspeicherung und Sektorkopplung bereits im Projekt mitentwickelt. Parallel erfolgen die rechtlichen Untersuchungen. Begleitet werden die Aktivitäten durch einen umfangreichen nationalen und europäischen Stakeholder- und Politik-Dialog, um auch auf diesen Ebenen die Voraussetzungen für die Realisierung dezentraler grenzübergreifender Energieversorgung in Europa zu schaffen.

Umgesetzt wird das Projekt durch ein Triple-Helix-Konsortium aus den beiden Kommunen Emmen und Haren (Ems), drei regionalen Forschungseinrichtungen sowie zwei im Projektgebiet tätigen Energieunternehmen, ergänzt um weitere Unternehmen als „assoziierte Partner“ auch im Hinblick auf die erwartete Investitionsphase nach Projektende.

Projekt
Informationen

Geplante Projektkosten

1.488.290,93 €

Projektlaufzeit

1.3.2018 - 28.2.2022

Priorität

Erhöhung der grenzüberschreitenden Innovationskraft im Programmgebiet

Lead Partner

Gemeente Emmen

Projektpartner

Rijksuniversiteit Groningen , Stadt Haren (Ems), Universiteit Twente, Agrowea, NAM B.V., Hochschule Osnabrück

Projekt
Finanzierung

Finanzierer Betrag
Ministerie van Economische Zaken en Klimaat 89.297,46 €
Hochschule Osnabrück 86.245,50 €
Provincie Drenthe 59.531,64 €
Universiteit Twente 12.075,00 €
EFRE / EFRO 744.145,47 €
Agrowea 72.808,20 €
NAM B.V. 0,00 €
Gemeente Emmen 141.549,57 €
MB Niedersachsen 148.829,09 €
Stadt Haren (Ems) 47.164,50 €
Rijksuniversiteit Groningen 86.644,50 €