Interreg

Deutschland-Nederland

Recycling the Future Automotive Interior

Recycling the Future Automotive Interior

Nowadays, recycled yarns are produced only from sorted waste, such as pure wool, PET bottles or plastic waste from the ocean. However, a large proportion of the textile waste consists of fiber and raw material mixtures (example: a sweater made of 70% cotton and 30% polyester), so that they cannot be sorted according to their intended use but can only be thermally recycled.

In preliminary trials and projects by Texperium (textile recycling and research company from the Netherlands) and imat-uve (design and engineering service provider to the automotive industry) it was achieved to spin yarns of up to 100% recycled mixed fibers, through presorting and modification of the spinning process. Initial laboratory tests on sample fabrics made from these yarns have already met key requirements. The results obtained in preliminary testing show the great potential of industrial development: the entire carbon footprint of the textile value chain can be sustainably reduced if recycled materials can go through an additional cycle of use in terms of the circular economy.

The potential process and project innovation will be used to establish the textile industry of the border region Germany-Netherlands as a global pioneer in the field of mixed fiber recycling and the textile recycling industry. During the project, workshops will be held with industry partners from the region (textile machine manufacturers, spinners, weavers and suppliers as well as universities) to raise awareness of the project and, in general, mixed fiber recycling of used clothes.

Project
Information

Planned project

1.394.227,00 €

Project Duration

18.3.2019 - 31.12.2021

Priority

Erhöhung der grenzüberschreitenden Innovationskraft im Programmgebiet

Lead Partner

imat-uve gmbh

Project partners

C2C ExpoLAB, Stichting Texperium, FBBasic, Trützschler GmbH & Co KG, COFA BV

Project
Financing

Financer Amount
COFA BV 0,00 €
Trützschler GmbH & Co KG 0,00 €
Provincie Limburg 27.884,54 €
Provincie Overijssel 27.884,54 €
FBBasic 29.975,88 €
C2C ExpoLAB 52.422,94 €
Ministerie van Economische Zaken en Klimaat 83.653,62 €
Stichting Texperium 108.889,13 €
MWIDE NRW 139.422,70 €
imat-uve gmbh 226.980,15 €
EFRE / EFRO 697.113,50 €

Interreg

Deutschland-Nederland

Recycling the Future Automotive Interior

Recycling the Future Automotive Interior

Heutzutage entstehen Recycling-Garne lediglich aus sortenreinen Abfällen, wie zum Beispiel Reißwolle, PET-Flaschen oder Plastik-Müll aus Meeren. Ein Großteil der textilen Abfälle besteht allerdings aus Faser- und Rohstoffmischungen (Beispiel: ein Pullover aus 70% Baumwolle und 30% Polyester), so dass sich diese nach Benutzung nicht sortenrein recyceln sondern lediglich thermisch verwerten lassen.

In Vorversuchen und -projekten von Texperium (Textilrecycling und -Forschungsunternehmen aus den Niederlanden) und imat-uve (Design und Engineering-Dienstleister der Automobilindustrie) ist es gelungen, mit Hilfe von grober Vorsortierung und Modifikation eines Spinnverfahrens Garne aus bis zu 100% recycelten Mischfasern herzustellen. In ersten Laborprüfungen von Mustergeweben aus diesen Garnen konnten bereits ausschlaggebende Anforderungen erfüllt werden. Die in Vorversuchen erzielten Ergebnisse zeigen das große Potential einer industriellen Weiterentwicklung auf: der gesamte Carbon Footprint der textilen Wertschöpfungskette kann nachhaltig reduziert werden, wenn recycelte Materialien einen zusätzlichen Nutzungszyklus im Sinne der Kreislaufwirtschaft durchlaufen können.

Die mögliche Prozess- und Projektinnovation soll genutzt werden, um die Textilindustrie der Grenzregion Deutschland-Niederland als globalen Vorreiter im Bereich Mischfaserrecycling und textiler Kreislaufwirtschaft zu etablieren. Während des Projektes sollen Workshops mit Industriepartnern der Region (Textilmaschinenherstellern, Spinnern, Webern und Ausrüstern sowie Hochschulen) veranstaltet werden, um Bewusstsein für das Projekt und allgemein das Thema Mischfaserrecycling von Altkleidern zu schaffen.

Projekt
Informationen

Geplante Projektkosten

1.394.227,00 €

Projektlaufzeit

1.1.2019 - 31.12.2021

Priorität

Erhöhung der grenzüberschreitenden Innovationskraft im Programmgebiet

Lead Partner

imat-uve gmbh

Projektpartner

Trützschler GmbH & Co KG, FBBasic, Stichting Texperium, C2C ExpoLAB

Projekt
Finanzierung

Finanzierer Betrag
C2C ExpoLAB 52.422,94 €
EFRE / EFRO 697.113,50 €
FBBasic 29.975,88 €
imat-uve gmbh 226.980,15 €
Ministerie van Economische Zaken en Klimaat 83.653,62 €
MWIDE NRW 139.422,70 €
Provincie Limburg 27.884,54 €
Provincie Overijssel 27.884,54 €
Stichting Texperium 108.889,13 €
Trützschler GmbH & Co KG 0,00 €