Interreg

Deutschland-Nederland

GPT 2015+

Grenzüberschreitendes Polizeiteam 2015+

The cross-border police team is a merger between the Koninklijke Marechaussee (NL), Politieeenheid Oost-Nederland (NL), Bundespolizeidirektion Hannover, Polizeidirektion Osnabrück (Lower Saxony) and Kreispolizeibehörde Borken (North Rhine-Westphalia). Working under one roof and headed by a coordinator, this special unit ensures security in the border region. The team conducts joint patrols in the German-Dutch border region to combat cross-border crimes such as smuggling, human trafficking, document crime, drug trafficking, money laundering and vehicle crime.

Every year, the approximately 20 GPT police officers (10 Dutch and 10 German) are active in over 1,600 cases. In addition to numerous drug discoveries (approximately 350 kg of narcotics with a market value of over 8 million euros), since 2008 the GPT has been able to apprehend over 700 criminals wanted by international searches or goods of high value. The patrol cars are each manned by one German and one Dutch officer and do not have to stop at the border. When crossing the border, the command changes from one police officer to the other. The GPT began its work on 1 June 2008 and was at that time the first institutionalised and permanently oriented purely operational police team that was able to fight crime along an inner-European border without any de facto barriers.

The cross-border police team in Bad Bentheim has proven its worth. An extended operation, especially with the targeted information control as a component, should make the operation of the GPT even more effective. The use of the latest search techniques and secure data lines as well as the implementation of digital radio network connections between the police forces of both states are in the focus of the operational work. A more effective cooperation of the participating security authorities in the border area on the basis of targeted information (collection, evaluation and control) is the aim of the project in addition to the feasibility studies on the connection of technical aids and the use of a joint information centre.

In addition to the expenses for the project listed in the cost plan, the participating authorities will provide additional personnel (20 employees in the GPT and 3 employees for information control). Furthermore, other expenses for the normal operation of the GPT are not quantified (operation of radio masts, technical network, additional patrol vehicles, …) which are not included in the co-financing as costs of the project. The share of the participating authorities in the total cost of the project is estimated at several million euros.

The successful work of the GPT Bad Bentheim within the EU project was extended until 31 March 2019 and supported by the European Union, the State of North Rhine-Westphalia, the National Politics (NL) and the State Chancellery of Lower Saxony with funds totalling around 650,000 euros.

The Cross-border Police Team (GPT) will continue its work even without the expired financial support from the European Union. A paper to this effect, the so-called “Ahauser Convention”, was signed by the participating heads of authorities on 28 March 2019 during a ceremony in the Kulturquadrat in Ahaus.
The five partner authorities, the Osnabrück Police Headquarters, the Politie Oost-Nederland, the Koninklijke Marechaussee, the Borken District Police Authority and the Hannover Federal Police Headquarters, agreed to maintain the status quo of the GPT and to intensify and expand cross-border cooperation. According to the agreement, the team, which is popular with the media and the population, should be able to be deployed even more flexibly for investigations, search measures and support in the future. The exchange of police information along the border will also be expanded – possibly through a joint information centre. The idea of the GPT, a cross-border association unique in this dimension, is considered a model for police cooperation in many border regions, including the areas of the German-Polish and German-Danish borders.

Project
Information

Planned project costs

799.659,74 €

Project Duration

1.4.2015 - 31.3.2019

Priority

Socio-cultural and territorial cohesion in the programme area

Lead Partner

Polizeidirektion Osnabrück

Project partners

Bundespolizeidirektion Hannover, Kreispolizeibehörde Borken, Koninklijke Marechaussee / District Noord-Oost / MPC 33 K, Nationale Politie Eenheid Oost-Nederland

Project
Financing

Financer Amount
Nationale Politie Eenheid Oost-Nederland 32.106,69 €
Koninklijke Marechaussee / District Noord-Oost / MPC 33 K 15.311,90 €
Korps Nationale Politie 79.166,31 €
Bundespolizeidirektion Hannover 61.390,71 €
MB Niedersachsen 79.166,31 €
EFRE / EFRO 399.829,87 €
Kreispolizeibehörde Borken 14.581,82 €
MWIDE NRW 79.166,31 €
Polizeidirektion Osnabrück 38.939,82 €

Interreg

Deutschland-Nederland

GPT 2015+

Grenzüberschreitendes Polizeiteam 2015+

Das grenzüberschreitende Polizeiteam ist ein Zusammenschluss zwischen der Koninklijken Marechaussee (NL), der Politieeenheid Oost-Nederland (NL), der Bundespolizeidirektion Hannover, der Polizeidirektion Osnabrück (Niedersachsen) und der Kreispolizeibehörde Borken (Nordrhein-Westfalen). Unter einem Dach arbeitend und geleitet durch einen Koordinator, sorgt diese spezielle Einheit für die Sicherheit in der Grenzregion. Das Team führt im deutsch-niederländischen Grenzraum gemeinsame Streifen zur Bekämpfung grenzüberschreitender Delikte wie Schleusungskriminalität, Menschenhandel, Dokumentenkriminalität, Drogenhandel, Geldwäsche und der Kfz-Kriminalität durch.

Pro Jahr werden die rund 20 Polizisten des GPT (10 Niederlande und 10 Deutschland) in über 1.600 Fällen aktiv. Neben zahlreichen Drogenfunden (etwa 350 kg Betäubungsmittel mit einem Marktwert von über 8 Millionen Euro) konnten seit 2008 über 700 per internationaler Fahndung gesuchte Straftäter oder Güter von hohem Wert durch das GPT aufgegriffen werden. Die Streifenwagen sind jeweils mit einem deutschen und einem niederländischen Beamten besetzt und müssen nicht an der Grenze stoppen. Beim Grenzübertritt wechselt die Führung vom einen Polizisten auf den anderen. Das GPT nahm seine Arbeit am 1. Juni 2008 auf und war seinerzeit das erste institutionalisierte und auf Dauer ausgerichtete rein operativ arbeitende Polizeiteam, welches entlang einer innereuropäischen Grenze ohne faktische Barrieren Kriminalität bekämpfen konnte.

Das Grenzüberschreitende Polizeiteam in Bad Bentheim hat sich bewährt. Ein erweiterter Betrieb, insbesondere mit der gezielten Informationssteuerung als Komponente, soll den Betrieb des GPT noch effektiver gestalten. Die Nutzung neuester Fahndungstechniken und sicherer Datenleitungen sowie die Implementierung digitaler Funknetzverbindungen zwischen den Polizeien beider Staaten stehen im Fokus der operativen Arbeit. Eine effektivere Zusammenarbeit der beteiligten Sicherheitsbehörden im Grenzgebiet auf der Basis gezielter Informationen (sammeln, auswerten und steuern) ist neben den Machbarkeitsstudien zur Anbindung technischer Hilfsmittel und zur Nutzung eines gemeinsamen Informationszentrums ist Ziel des Projektes.

Neben den im Kostenplan aufgeführten Ausgaben für das Projekt, stellen die beteiligten Behörden weiteres Personal (20 Mitarbeiter im GPT und 3 Mitarbeiter zur Informationssteuerung) zur Verfügung. Des Weiteren werden andere Ausgaben für den normalen Betrieb des GPT nicht beziffert (Betrieb von Funkmasten, technisches Netzwerk, weitere Streifenfahrzeuge, …) die nicht als Kosten für das Projekt in die Co-Finanzierung eingebracht werden. Der Anteil der beteiligten Behörden an den Gesamtkosten des Projektes beziffert sich hier auf mehrere Millionen Euro.

Die erfolgreiche Arbeit des GPT Bad Bentheim innerhalb des EU-Projektes wurde bis zum 31. März 2019 ausgebaut und mit Fördermitteln in Höhe von insgesamt rund 650.000 Euro seitens der Europäischen Union, des Landes Nordrhein Westfalen, der Nationalen Politie (NL) und der Niedersächsischen Staatskanzlei unterstützt.

Das Grenzüberschreitende Polizeiteam (GPT) wird seine Arbeit auch ohne die abgelaufenen finanziellen Unterstützungen durch die Europäische Union fortsetzen. Ein entsprechendes Papier, das sogenannte „Ahauser Übereinkommen“, unterzeichneten die beteiligten Behördenchefs am 28. März 2019 im Rahmen einer Feierstunde im Kulturquadrat in Ahaus.
Die fünf Partnerbehörden, die Polizeidirektion Osnabrück, die Politie Oost-Nederland, die Koninklijke Marechaussee, die Kreispolizeibehörde Borken und die Bundespolizeidirektion Hannover, vereinbarten neben der Erhaltung des Status quo des GPT eine Intensivierung und den Ausbau der grenzüberschreitenden Zusammenarbeit. Dem in den Medien und bei der Bevölkerung populären Team soll es laut Übereinkommen zukünftig möglich sein, noch flexibler für Ermittlungen, Fahndungsmaßnahmen und Unterstützungen eingesetzt werden zu können. Auch der polizeiliche Informationsaustausch entlang der Grenze werde ausgebaut – möglicherweise durch ein gemeinsames Informationszentrum. Die Idee des GPT, ein in dieser Dimension einmaliger länderübergreifender Zusammenschluss, gilt als Vorbild für die polizeiliche Zusammenarbeit in vielen Grenzregionen, darunter auch die Gebiete der deutsch-polnischen und der deutsch-dänischen Grenze.


Zum Projekt (externer Link)

Projekt
Informationen

Geplante Projektkosten

1.006.452,15 €

Projektlaufzeit

1.4.2015 - 31.3.2019

Priorität

Soziokulturelle und territoriale Kohäsion des Programmgebietes

Lead Partner

Polizeidirektion Osnabrück

Projektpartner

Bundespolizeidirektion Hannover, Kreispolizeibehörde Borken, Koninklijke Marechaussee / District Noord-Oost / MPC 33 K, Nationale Politie Eenheid Oost-Nederland

Projekt
Finanzierung

Finanzierer Betrag
Bundespolizeidirektion Hannover 63.063,74 €
EFRE / EFRO 410.726,07 €
Koninklijke Marechaussee / District Noord-Oost / MPC 33 K 15.729,18 €
Korps Nationale Politie 81.323,76 €
Kreispolizeibehörde Borken 14.979,21 €
MB Niedersachsen 81.323,76 €
MWIDE NRW 81.323,76 €
Nationale Politie Eenheid Oost-Nederland 32.981,66 €
Polizeidirektion Osnabrück 40.001,01 €