Interreg

Deutschland-Nederland

FOOD 2020 - Phase II

Future offensive for the German-Dutch food sector

The Food Industry has an important economic impact in the Dutch-German INTERREG region and is characterised by a large amount of small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs) on both sides of the border. Especially the SMEs are challenged by the development in the global food market and by the demands of consumer.

To improve the competitiveness of the regional food business and to make it fit for the future the project FOOD2020 has been developed in-line with the Europe 2020 Strategy on smart, sustainable and inclusive growth. In FOOD2020 the five topics of the European Strategy are covered; research and development, climate change and sustainability, social inclusion, education and employment. They are adapted for the food sector in the region by setting up cross-border networks among companies and research and educational institutions. In innovation projects and feasibility studies, SMEs and research institutions work together on innovative developments.

Project topics include the development of bio-based packaging solutions, foodstuffs based on insects or solutions for the controlled cultivation of plants in urban areas. Also, the development of an app with gamification elements for in-house training and the organization of a German-Dutch traineeship program are the subject of FOOD2020. The project is almost completed and has led to many new products, processes, services and solutions to existing and future challenges in the food industry. Some results are published on the homepage www.food2020.eu.

The consortium, with the DIL as coordinator, plans to start a second phase. The aim is to support the successful ideas of the feasibility studies in the implementation and to prepare the region for future challenges. With a budget of approximately € 4.5 million, another 20 innovation projects will be funded. Additionally, 10 thematic “think tanks” will be established, which will deal with concrete questions about the future of nutrition from the perspective of companies.

Project
Information

Interreg

Deutschland-Nederland

FOOD 2020 - Phase II

Zukunftsoffensive für die deutsch-niederländische Lebensmittelwirtschaft /

Die Ernährungsbranche hat eine große wirtschaftliche Bedeutung im gesamten deutsch-niederländischen INTERREG-Gebiet und ist gleichzeitig geprägt durch einen hohen Anteil an kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen (KMU) auf beiden Seiten der Grenze. Durch globale wirtschaftliche Entwicklungen und durch wachsende Forderungen der Konsumenten sind besonders die KMU heute stark gefordert.

Um die Lebensmittelwirtschaft in der Region durch eine Steigerung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit fit zu machen für 2020 ist das Projekt FOOD2020 explizit an der europäischen Leitlinie Europa 2020 für intelligentes, nachhaltiges und integratives Wachstum ausgerichtet. Die fünf Themenfelder der Leitlinie – Forschung und Entwicklung, Klimawandel und Nachhaltigkeit, soziale Integration, Bildung und Beschäftigung – werden in FOOD2020 durch den Aufbau grenzüberschreitender Netzwerke von Unternehmen und Forschungs- und Bildungseinrichtungen bedarfsorientiert für die Ernährungswirtschaft angepasst.

In Innovationsprojekten und Machbarkeitsstudien arbeiten KMU und Forschungseinrichtungen gemeinsam an innovativen Entwicklungen. Projektthemen sind beispielsweise die Entwicklung biobasierter Verpackungslösungen, Lebensmittel auf Basis von Insekten oder Lösungen zum kontrollierten Anbau von Pflanzen in urbanen Gebieten. Auch die Entwicklung einer App mit Gamification-Elementen für innerbetriebliche Schulungen und die Organisation eines deutsch-niederländischen Traineeship Programms sind Gegenstand von FOOD2020.

Das Projekt ist fast abgeschlossen und hat zu vielen neuen Produkten, Prozessen, Dienstleistungen und Lösungsansätzen für bestehende und zukünftige Herausforderungen in der Lebensmittelbranche geführt. Einige Ergebnisse sind auf der Homepage www.food2020.eu veröffentlicht.

Das Konsortium, mit dem DIL als Koordinator, plant den Start einer zweiten Phase. Ziel ist es, die erfolgreichen Ideen der Machbarkeitsstudien bei der Umsetzung zu unterstützen und somit die Region auch weiterhin auf die a

Projekt
Informationen

Geplante Projektkosten

4.461.059,50 €

Projektlaufzeit

1.7.2018 - 31.12.2020

Priorität

Erhöhung der grenzüberschreitenden Innovationskraft im Programmgebiet

Lead Partner

DIL e.V. - Deutsches Institut für Lebensmitteltechnik e.V.

Projektpartner

Oost NL - Ontwikkelingsmaatschappij Oost Nederland NV, FPI - Food Processing Initiative e.V., N.V. NOM - Investerings- en Ontwikkelingsmaatschappij voor Noord-Nederland, BOM - Brabantse Ontwikkelings Maatschappij, LIOF - NV Industriebank LIOF- Limburgse Ontwikkelings- en Investeringsmaatschappij, GIQS e.V., Partner KMU/ MKB, Partner Wissenseinrichtungen/ kennisinstellingen

Projekt
Finanzierung

Finanzierer Betrag
BOM - Brabantse Ontwikkelings Maatschappij 0,00 €
DIL e.V. - Deutsches Institut für Lebensmitteltechnik e.V. 50.895,00 €
EFRE / EFRO 1.999.945,00 €
FPI - Food Processing Initiative e.V. 12.396,00 €
GIQS e.V. 9.490,00 €
LIOF - NV Industriebank LIOF- Limburgse Ontwikkelings- en Investeringsmaatschappij 0,00 €
MB Niedersachsen 229.200,00 €
Ministerie van Economische Zaken en Klimaat 238.000,00 €
MWIDE NRW 224.000,00 €
N.V. NOM - Investerings- en Ontwikkelingsmaatschappij voor Noord-Nederland 0,00 €
Oost NL - Ontwikkelingsmaatschappij Oost Nederland NV 0,00 €
Partner KMU/ MKB 1.368.152,50 €
Partner Wissenseinrichtungen/ kennisinstellingen 118.981,00 €
Provincie Drenthe 30.000,00 €
Provincie Flevoland 0,00 €
Provincie Fryslân 30.000,00 €
Provincie Gelderland 30.000,00 €
Provincie Groningen 30.000,00 €
Provincie Limburg 30.000,00 €
Provincie Noord-Brabant 30.000,00 €
Provincie Overijssel 30.000,00 €