Spreek je buurtaal - Sprich deine Nachbarsprache

Rahmenprojekt Nachbarsprache für niederländischer Basisscholen sowie Grundschulen und Schulen der Sekundarstufe I

This project focuses on the implementation of high-quality language education on neighbouring languages at primary schools, Grundschulen and Schulen der Sekundarstufe I in the EUREGIO. Stumbling blocks that schools face on the road to implementing language education on neighbouring languages will be removed by offering educational courses and by developing or continuing to improve upon didactic concepts and materials.

The Dutch and German schools will enter into cross-border partnerships and will work together to make sure that pupils as well as teachers are intensively exposed to their neighbouring language and culture. Additional investments were made in the form of a EUREGIOnal expertise and coordination centre for language education on neighbouring languages to improve networks and substantive and strategic cooperation. A feasibility study on this topic was conducted in the second half of 2018.

The educational courses started in 2017. Courses are offered on Dutch and German, as well as on didactics for modern languages. The courses are provided by Radboud in’to Languages. An increased range of courses became available to participating schools in the second half of 2018.

A new list of materials was made in 2017. The schools got the opportunity to order materials on this list at a set price. This collaboration between participating schools was made stronger with the help of new geographically organised cluster meetings. In these meetings, the neighbouring language coordinators from the cluster schools can exchange knowledge and experiences.

To project (external link)


Planned project costs

1.813.987,00 €

Project Duration

1.9.2016 - 31.8.2020


Socio-cultural and territorial cohesion in the programme area

Lead Partner

Regio Achterhoek

Project partners

Stichting Essentius, Gemeente Aalten, Bezirksregierung Münster, Niedersächsische Landesschulbehörde, Stichting Openbaar Primair Onderwijs Winterswijk (SOPOW), Stichting interconfessioneel onderwijs Bredevoort, Stichting Consent, Stichting Keender, Stichting Katholiek Onderwijs Enschede, Stichting Christelijk Onderwijs Twenterand e.o., Schulamt für den Kreis Kleve


Financer Amount
Stadt Nordhorn 6.000,00 €
Gemeente Losser 6.000,00 €
Gemeente Oude IJsselstreek 6.000,00 €
Stadt Borken 6.000,00 €
Stadt Gronau 6.000,00 €
Stichting Katholiek Onderwijs Enschede 14.904,37 €
Gemeente Aalten 6.000,00 €
Niedersächsische Landesschulbehörde 81.933,00 €
Gemeinde Südlohn 6.000,00 €
Stadt Emmerich am Rhein 6.000,00 €
Stichting Christelijk Onderwijs Twenterand e.o. 14.904,37 €
MWIDE NRW 66.273,24 €
Kaderpartner NL + D 202158 0,00 €
Gemeente Haaksbergen 6.000,00 €
Gemeinde Heek 6.000,00 €
Stichting Consent 0,00 €
Gemeente Twenterand 6.000,00 €
Stadt Vreden 6.000,00 €
Stichting Essentius 87.755,00 €
Gemeinde Uelsen 6.000,00 €
Provincie Gelderland 132.546,10 €
Stadt Ahaus 6.000,00 €
Stadt Bocholt 6.000,00 €
Gemeente Enschede 6.000,00 €
Gemeente Winterswijk 6.000,00 €
Stichting interconfessioneel onderwijs Bredevoort 3.834,00 €
Regio Achterhoek 29.756,30 €
Nederlandse Taalunie 50.000,00 €
Bezirksregierung Münster 0,00 €
Schulamt für den Kreis Kleve 0,00 €
Stichting Keender 5.034,00 €
Samtgemeinde Emlichheim 6.000,00 €
Samtgemeinde Neuenhaus 6.000,00 €
Stichting Openbaar Primair Onderwijs Winterswijk (SOPOW) 37.498,00 €
MB Niedersachsen 66.273,24 €
EFRE / EFRO 704.710,85 €